Unused Cycles

May 27, 2010

Make KDE/Qt apps look consistent with GNOME apps in Ubuntu 10.04

Filed under: GNU/Linux — Kevin @ 11:26 am

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve posted, but I’m still around. I just figured out something that’s plagued me for a long time, and it turned out to be really simple.

I’ve always hated how KDE/Qt apps and GNOME/GTK apps look so different. Most people say “just use qtcurve,” but I wanted them to look uniform with the default Ubuntu Ambiance theme. Here’s a(n almost) complete solution, and it should work with Arch Linux, too (I’ll try it later today).

  1. Install System Settings (sudo apt-get install systemsettings)
  2. Go to System->Preferences->QT4 Settings and set Select GUI Style to GTK+
  3. Go to System->Preferences->System Settings, choose Appearance, and set the Widget Style to GTK+
  4. While in System Settings, download this color scheme and import it using the Import Scheme under Colors
  5. Under Fonts, I selected 96 dpi, set all font sizes to 10 (the GNOME default for Ubuntu on my computer), and turned on anti-aliasing
  6. Under Icons, select Ubuntu Mono Dark

The result is pretty consistent as you can see with the screenshot of Amarok below. One small niggle is that the file dialogs for KDE/QT apps are still QT style, but unfortunately I haven’t been able to find a program that does the opposite of KGtk (if you happen to know of one I’d be thrilled to hear about it). The fonts also look a bit different, but it may be a slight difference in the fonts “Sans” used by GNOME and “Sans Serif” used by KDE.

Hope this helps someone. Why Canonical doesn’t do this with stock Ubuntu confuses me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

